Tibetan Communities

There are about 1000 Tibetans living in Australia in different cities. Despite the small number of Tibetans, they have formed Tibetan communities in Sydney, Melbourne, Canberra, New Castle, Brisbane, Adelaide, Perth, and Hobart.

Tibetan Buddhist Centres

Australia has many Tibetan Buddhist centres of all traditions.

Tibet Information Office

8/13 Napier Close Deakin
Canberra ACT 2600
p: +61-2-6285-4046 Fax: +61-2-6282-4301
e: tiboff(at)

Australian Government’s position on Tibet

“The Australian Government accepts that Tibet is part of China, a position consistent with Australia’s recognition of the People’s Republic of China in 1972. Australia’s stance on this issue is in conformity with that of the wider international community.

The Government, however, remains concerned about continuing reports of restrictions on religious freedom, cultural identity human rights and freedom of expression inside Tibet. These concerns are included in a range of issues raised with the Chinese Government during bilateral Human rights dialogue, which was established in August 1997 and is held annually”

Because of its close economic, trade and cultural relations with China, the Prime Ministers and Foreign Ministers of the country have not met His Holiness the Dalai Lama since 2008.

Parliamentary Group for Tibet

There is an Australian All-Party Parliamentary Group for Tibet in the Australian Parliament. However no resolution on Tibet was passed in the Parliament in recent years.

More information

This page was posted on 29 August 2013; last updated 3 September 2013.

Leave a comment:

All views are welcome

  • Please do note:
    • Comments which are not on this topic will not be published.
    • Comments which are rude, entirely negative, or attacking people, will not be published.
    • Your statements should be supported by facts. (Remember that you can put links into your comment!)
    • It is not polite to YELL.
  • Your comments may be edited to meet the guidelines above.
    • Comments over 150 words will be shortened.
    • (If you have a lot of great things to say, please consider sending an article)
  • Your email address will not be published, but you must provide it.
  • Required fields have a *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Google ad